HelpLearning TechnologiesBlackboard Manage UsersHow Are Students Enrolled on Courses?

How Are Students Enrolled on Courses?

Blackboard is integrated with the Student Information System on campus (Quercus). 

As students begin to register for the new academic year in August/September, they will appear in the list of enrolled students on their respective Blackboard courses automatically within 24 hours.

Students will normally have access for up to 4 years of courses, unless an instructor has chosen to make courses unavailable. The student registration schedule is viewable online from the Registration Office.

It is possible to override this mechanism and manually enrol students, but this is not advisable. If you opt to manually enroll a student, they will not be registered for exams for your course. It is best to resolve the problem at the source (help the student correctly register for the module). 

Can I remove a student from my Blackboard module?

It is not possible to remove a student who is officially registered for a module - the automated process will simply re-enrol them. It is possible to remove a student that has been added manually.

N.B. This will destroy any assessments or contribution made by this user, so PLEASE be careful

Will my students already know about Blackboard?

Blackboard accounts are created automatically for all registered NUI Galway students, as part of the university account creation process. However, in many cases the students would not yet be aware of this.

You will be their main point of contact for information about how to login and access your course, so you should tell them about this in class or in course handbooks.

How do students login?

Students can log in at nuigalway.blackboard.com using their Student ID and CASS (Campus Account Self Service) password.

Any problems can be dealt with by the Service Desk in the Library foyer (students should take their ID card with them) or by contacting servicedesk@nuigalway.ie