Where do I find my Blackboard Collaborate recordings?

Record your Blackboard Collaborate Ultra sessions so that your participants can access presentations whenever they need them. Stop and restart whenever you need to, and when finished, locate them to share.  

Recorded sessions are compressed and saved as MP4s. Recordings include activity in the live session.

  • Audio
  • Any content shared or active speaker video. If both are shared during the session, only the content shared is recorded.
  • Chat messages in the Everyone channel. Private messages and chat messages in breakout groups are not recorded.

Only moderators can turn recording on in sessions. Everyone can view the recordings from any device as often as they want. There are no view limits.

Recordings need to be converted into a playable format before viewing. The first time a recording is accessed the conversion begins. It may take a few minutes but once is has been done the recording can be viewed by everybody.

Where do we find our recordings?

Both you and your participants access your recordings under the Virtual Classroom  menu on your Blackboard course.

Open the Menu, and select Recordings.

Recordings won’t be available immediately after the session as they can take a while to process, so if you check back an hour or two after your session, you should see it appear.

You can also change the filter to see all recordings. Otherwise, only recordings from the last 30 days will appear by default.

What about privacy and GDPR?

It should be clearly advised at the start of each session by the person giving the session if the session is  being  recorded  so  as  to  enable  the  participants  to  make  personal  choices  with  regard  to  their involvement in the recording. 

Be sure you read the Privay Notice for Recording of Lectures by NUI Galway

If you want chat messages to be anonymous in the recording, make sure you select that option in Session Settings before you start the session. To learn more, see Session Settings.

Where can I find Attendee Reports or Polls answered?

You can also find out how to view attendee reports here.

How do my participants access my recordings?

Do your participants know how to access your recordings? There are some steps you can take to make this even easier for them.

Sharing recordings with another course

If you want to share your recordings with anyone not in a course, you need to make them available to the public. Open the Recording Settings and select the Allow public access check box.

Need more help on your recording?

See the Blackboard Help notes on recording your session:

https://help.blackboard.com/Collaborate/Ultra/Moderator/Moderate_Sessions/Recordings