Using the Student Preview

Using the Student Preview

The Student Preview feature in Blackboard allows instructors to see the course exactly as a student would, and replicating the exact experience of a student on the course. It enables Faculty to view groups from a student view, to view the My Grades link, submit assignments, or to view assigned grades.

Student preview may appear to be similar to Edit Mode. However, while turning the Edit Mode to "OFF", and Blackboard shows content areas as they would appear to students, this does not allow the faculty to view groups from a student view, to view the My Grades link, submit assignments, or to view assigned grades.

Why is this useful?

Instructors can use the student preview in the following ways:

  1. Experience and test course behaviours from a student perspective.
  2. Use the account to check the availability of content items and files to identify file permission issues.
  3. Use the student preview account to take sample tests and submit sample assignments.
  4. Use it to test grade center calculations and visibility of grades to students.
  5. Use the account to sample grade as an instructor, and view feedback from the student perspective (switch between student and instructor views).
  6. Assign the student preview account to a group, and use it to preview group activities and assignments. Note: The student preview account is not assigned to a group. you will have to assign the account membership of the group.

Accessing Student Preview

To access the Student Preview mode in Blackboard, click on the Student Preview mode button at the top of the page, indicated by two curved arrows surrounding a dot.

Using the Student Preview

Whenever the Student Preview mode is on, you will then see an orange banner at the top of the screen with a message reading Student Preview mode is ON. You can now access the course in a similar fashion as a student. For example, you can take any available tests, view available content areas, and view your grades in the My Grades link.

After you are finished, click the Exit Preview button to exit.

The student preview account can be identified in your course roster with a username using the following format: utad_previewuser. In addition, it is listed by name using the following format: Yourfirstname Yourlastname_previewuser.

The student preview user account appears in the course roster and is visible to all students enrolled in the course. Other students can also interact with your preview user. For example, they can reply to your posts as though you were another student enrolled in the course.

Exiting the Student Preview

When exiting the Student Preview mode, you will be prompted to choose between two options, keeping or deleting the data from your session. Blackboard recommends removing the data unless you intend to make edits and return to student preview mode again to view the changes.

After clicking the Exit Preview button, you will see a dialog box, similar to the one shown below, with the following options:

  1. Delete the preview user and all data: Choose this option to delete the student account in its entirety, including any data submitted using the student preview account.
  2. Keep the Preview User and all data: This option will store the student preview account and all data associated with the account. Note: the student account still resides in the course, so this account may affect course availability and scoring.
  3. Remember this choice and do not ask me again. Select this option to save you selected choice.
  4. When finished, click the Continue button at the bottom of the page.

These options can also be changed by clicking the Settings button that appears at the top of the page while in the student preview.

Exiting Student Preview options

Watch a video

Please check out this link for more information on using Student Preview